A Book (or two..) In Review

divergent-insurgent

For the past two weeks, I read ‘Divergent’ (again) and ‘Insurgent’ both by Veronica Roth. And let me just start by saying, I can not, CAN NOT, wait for the third book to come out this fall. If you’re a fan of ‘The Hunger Games’, then you should definitely look into reading this series. The books take place in the far future, in what was Chicago, and society as we know it today doesn’t exist. The government in the book has taken the flaws of the society of the past and divided people into factions according to 5 different characteristics. Each faction holds a purpose for the city to run smoothly and work together. Once you turn 16, you are allowed to pick what faction you’d like to continue your life in, you can stay with your family in the one you were raised or switch. In the first book, the main character, Beatrice Prior, has now come to decide the fate of her future. In the second book, you learn more about the government and what really is the root of all evil in each faction. (I don’t want to give anything away, I despise spoilers!) I will say this about the second book tho, the author does a great job of picking up where the first book left off, she doesn’t go on to explain all you missed if you didn’t read the first book (which as an avid reader, I apperciate. I don’t need the back story, I read books in order…Side story; growing up I was obsessed with ‘The Baby Sitter’s Club’ and in every book, chapter 2 was dedicated to how the club got started and who was who. Needless to say, after reading the first book, I skipped chapter 2 in all the other books.) I highly recommend this series to anyone who likes a great story. It really gets your imagination going and the characters suck you in.

I’ve decided to make a goal and try to read one book every week of the year. So far I’m on track, I’ll be starting my 5th book of the year this week! Happy Reading, Xo.

3 thoughts on “A Book (or two..) In Review

  1. Pingback: A book in review. | keep calm & blog on

Leave a Reply

