A Book in Review!

get-attachment.aspx

Brief Summary: 

Maddy Nelson has an idyllic existence: a handsome husband, great kids, a comfortable, affluent lifestyle. One morning soon after she turns fifty, however, she wakes up in her San Francisco home to find her husband Steven announcing that he’s leaving her for a woman half her age. And a third of her size. Ouch! Feeling totally unmoored and grieving for her married life and husband, Maddy finds herself thrust into an unfamiliar and uncomfortable world of middle-aged singledom.

Review:

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. For me, a 5 star book must be one that I’ll want to read over and over. It also must be one I can’t wait to recommend to my mom and besties. ‘The Blasphemy Box’ is a 5 star book. I’ll admit that this book won me over on page 7 when the main character and narrator, Maddy, says “I guess you never really know a man until he leaves you.” The book could’ve ended there and I would’ve have wanted to recommend it to all my girlfriends. Because those twelve words are completely true. Where was this book in September when that advice would’ve saved me tons of sleepless nights where I laid awake pondering every minute of the past 5 and 1/2 years of my life. As I headed into chapter 2, I couldn’t believe how much this paralleled my life! I started this blog for the same reasons Maddy does, cause I needed an outlet and something to occupy my mind. The story made me laugh (out loud!), and cry. It made me reflect on my life and it seemed I was constantly picking up my iPhone to draft a new quote to tweet. I’ve always been a fan of British heroines, so that made it extra easy for me to get lost in the story. I always end my reviews with a recommendation, but instead I’ll close this one with a quote from, one of my new fave books, ‘The Blasphemy Box’. “Life is life. We all make our choices. Sometimes with no idea of how they will pan out, but then we’re stuck with them. It is what it is.” That is blunt, but fabulous advice. Xo!

Author Bio:

Mandy Behbehani grew up and was educated in England. Her first short story was published when she was twelve and she has been scribbling away ever since, as a journalist and now a novelist. She holds a degree from the University of Missouri-Columbia, and, over her career, served as West Coast correspondent for Women’s Wear Daily and W magazine, as an on-air reporter at KTVU-TV and, for a decade, as the fashion editor and features writer for the Hearst San Francisco Examiner where she won awards for feature writing. Her work has been published in a variety of publications including the Los Angeles Times, the San Francisco Chronicle, Town & County magazine, the San Jose Mercury News and Travel & Leisure magazine.

She lives in California, and, when she’s not in front of her computer, she can be found reading a good book, and hiking the open space that surrounds her home with her yellow Lab, Lalou.

 Connect with Mandy!

https://www.amazon.com/author/mandybehbehani

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17694011-the-blasphemy-box

www.facebook.com/pages/Mandy-Behbehani/160373794122565

twitter handle: @mandyscribeista

scribeista.blogspot.com

Buy the Book!

The Blasphemy Box

Tour Dates

get-attachment.aspx

June 10 – Samantha March – Q&A & Excerpt

June 11- eBook Addict – Guest Post

June 13 – Musings and Ramblings – Excerpt

June 14 – Keep Calm and Blog On – Review

June 17 – Defining Women’s Evolution in Discovery Blog – Q&A & Excerpt

June 19 – eBook Addict – Q&A

June 20- Chick Lit Club Connect – Guest Post

June 24 – The East Village – Review

June 25 – Every Free Chance Book Reviews – Review & Excerpt

June 26 – Jersey Girl Book Reviews – Review, Guest Post & Excerpt

June 27 – Rom Com and Cupcakes – Guest Post & Q&A

June 28 – Read Baby Read – Review & Q&A

July 1 – Karma For Life Chick – Review

**Everyone who leaves a comment on Mandy’s tour page will be entered to win a $20 Amazon gift card! Anyone who purchases their copy of  The Blasphemy Box before  July 1 and sends their receipt to Samantha (at) ChickLitPlus (dot) com, will get five bonus entries.**

clp-button

One thought on “A Book in Review!

Leave a Reply

