A book in review & interview!

20652614

Brief Summary:
Twenty-four-year-old Kylie Reed has always been a rule follower. Organized and cautious to a fault, her dreams for life are often filed away for future use—when she has a house, when she meets her future husband, when she has been at her visual display job at a chic Dallas boutique longer…Kylie always has a reason for living her life in the future, not in the present, and not living her life to the fullest and reaching her dream of becoming a fashion designer.
The only exception to rules, of course, would be running away with Prince Harry—Kylie’s ideal man. A hot, fun ginger boy would be worth breaking all the rules for, of course. And Kylie is sure Harry just needs the right, centering woman to settle him down. But living in Dallas and not knowing Prince Harry make this a non-option.

Or does it?

Because when Kylie accidentally falls into the lap of a gorgeous ginger boy—yes, even more gorgeous than the real Prince Harry—all bets are off. Could this stranger be the one to show Kylie how to take a chance, to face her fears, and live in the present? And could this stranger be the Prince Harry she has been waiting for? Kylie’s life takes some unexpected twists and turns thanks to this chance encounter, and she knows her life will never be the same because of it…

Review:
I received this book in exchange for an honest review. When Aven reached out to me to review her novel, she pitched it perfectly. She buttered me up on how much she liked my blog and gave my New York Rangers some love. I was already sold. But then she gave me the book’s description. A book about a woman looking for love and she finds a hockey player. Hello?! The life I want…! This 5 star book, is so well written. She paints every scene perfectly. The main character, Kylie is sweet, witty, and fun. Harrison is a total catch. The hockey talk is an amazing bonus. I’ve find found out that girls like me, looking for love with a pro hockey player, are called a #puckbunny, I’m totes okay with that! This is the perfect chick lit novel, you don’t need to love hockey like me and Aven to love this book. I recommend this book to anyone who loves a great, well written, funny story that’ll have you hooked from the start, xo!

Interview:

What’s a typical day look like for you?
I work full-time for a sports TV network so I’m usually at the office by 8:30AM. I write at my desk on lunch breaks. Once I’m home from work, I make dinner for the family (I love cooking!)  spend time with them, answer emails, etc. Around 8:30 I workout (I do that 5 days a week) and I’m in bed by 11PM.

Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts? What’s your order there?
Dunkin Donuts like Harrison in Waiting for Prince Harry. Blueberry coffee with cream, please!

Describe your style.
I buy my clothing from 2-3 places so I can create a look. I love Ann Taylor, LOFT, and Banana Republic. I love wrap dresses, sheath dresses, circle skirts, and classic trousers. I also have a really awesome pair of fake leather pants I got at Target two years ago that fool everyone–they think they’re real. 🙂

What’s your favorite book or series?
Anything written by Holly Martin is an instant favorite.

What’s your favorite movie?

I’m better at favorite TV shows. MasterChef, Top Chef, Next Food Network Star and Project Runway!
Must have products?
Pai moisturizer. Love that line. Jo Malone perfume (currently wearing Peony & Suede.) Revlon Lip Butters are my favorite lipstick EVER and they’re crazy cheap and keep your lips SOFT. I have three in my purse right now.
Fave nail polish?
Almost any shade by Butter of London.
When did you start writing novels?
15. When I was a sophomore in high school I wrote a high school romance.
What’s your biggest fear?
Being sick.
How’d you get into hockey?
I got hooked when I saw my first game. The speed of these guys is amazing. And then I realized they were totally hot and I was sold. 🙂
Any advice to anyone who wants to write a book?
Keep writing, write your brains out, and then write some more. You’ll get better with each manuscript you write. 
Must see blogs/websites?
Your blog is in my feed because you post anything and everything and I love it.
I love Paleo OMG (I eat a lot of Paleo meals) and What Kate Wore (because I’m obsessed with the Duchess of Cambridge and her fashion.)

 

*ps. I could not be any more obsessed with Aven-follow her on twitter; @avenellis

instagram; kmp718 | twitter; @kmpevents | pinterest; kmp718

Leave a Reply

